Saturday 10/29/11 @ Gather

I will never forget the challenging words of a high school coach who would regularly say, “it is not so much the potential you have that matters, it’s what you do with what you have.”  Looking us straight in the eye he would continue, “so, what are you doing with what you have?”  These words regularly ring in my ears as an encouraging challenge to consider what I am doing with what God has given me.  And for sure, God has given each and every one of us everything we need to fulfill His purposes for us- amazing gifts to fulfill His specific call in our lives.

When I consider what holds me back from living up to what God has called me to, it is usually one (or all) of the following three things.  First, it is simply not knowing what God has gifted me with.  Second, it is not trusting that God has actually given me those gifts.  Third, it is not understanding what God is calling me to do with those gifts.  Gideon is a man who struggles with all three of these.

First, when we are introduced to Gideon he is hiding out in a winepress threshing wheat because he is afraid of the Midianites.  What we discover next, about how God sees Gideon, is quite shocking considering the circumstances.  For now let’s just say, God does not view Gideon as Gideon views himself, but as the man He has made him to be.

Please join us this Saturday as we discuss how God views us based on who He has made us to be!

Leave a Reply

