Saturday 9.17.11 @ Gather

Some of my most memorable life events involve food!  From birthday cakes to Thanksgiving dinners, from a romantic night with my wife to a BBQ with my crazy friends (and the normal ones too- as if I have any of those).  There is just something so special about sharing food together that is bigger than the food itself.  It is almost impossible to put your finger on exactly what it is about eating together that is so wonderful.  Maybe it is the thought that everyone else is tasting the same food.  Maybe it is knowing everyone else in the room is being fed.  Maybe it is the conversations about the food.  Or, maybe it has little to do with the food at all.  I just don’t exactly know, but I do know there is something very life-giving in the breaking of bread together.  It is something that is not experienced when eating alone.  It is something mysterious and life-giving.  Whatever it is, I must say, I love it.  Bottom line, eating together nourishes the body and the soul.

This mystery is something the prophet Isaiah is familiar with.  Listen to his words, what starts as a meal does not end with just the enjoyment food (free and finest I might add) but in the discovery of life!

“Is anyone thirsty?
Come and drink—
even if you have no money!
Come, take your choice of wine or milk—
it’s all free!
Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength?
Why pay for food that does you no good?
Listen to me, and you will eat what is good.
You will enjoy the finest food.

“Come to me with your ears wide open.
Listen, and you will find life. (Isa 55:1-3b)

I encourage you to come this Saturday and eat.  It is our monthly meal service and it is always such a wonderful time of filling bellies and souls and experiencing life together.

Leave a Reply

